Thank You, Omu! (Hardcover)

Thank You, Omu! Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
3 on hand, as of May 21 1:15pm
Politics and Prose at Union Market
2 on hand, as of May 21 2:40pm

Description


A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book
Winner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award

In this
remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?

Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.

About the Author


Oge Mora graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in illustration. When not painting in her studio, Oge is in the kitchen cooking her late grandmother's recipes. Her first picture book, Thank You, Omu!, was a Caldecott Honor, a New York Times Notable Book and Editors' Choice, and a Junior Library Guild selection. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island, and invites you to visit her website at www.ogemora.com.

Praise For…


A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book
Winner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award
An ALA Children's Notables List Selection 2019

CCBC Choices 2019
A New York Times Notable Children's Book of 2018
A Bank Street College Best Children's Book
of 2018
A Publishers' Weekly Best Book of 2018
A Boston Globe Best Children's Book of 2018
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2018
A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice Staff Pick
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2018
2019 E.B. White Read-Aloud Award Finalist



[*] "A memorable tale of community and the unexpected rewards of sharing."—School Library Journal, starred review


[*] "A lovely story of giving and community founded in Nigerian culture. Delectable."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review


[*] "Mora [is] a major new talent.... Rhythmic, refrainlike...this sweet story of inclusivity, gratitude, and delicious fellowship is also a feast for the eyes."
Publishers Weekly, starred review


"A great choice...for introducing the concept of sharing."—Booklist

"A joyous homage... Mora's art casually yet vividly reminds readers of the diversity we encounter all around us, presenting her characters in all hues while acknowledging multiple languages in various cut-outs throughout."—Shelf Awareness


"[The illustrations] will have toddlers reaching out to grab them."—The New York Times Book Review

"Ideal...to use any time sharing is the theme."
The Horn Book


"All at once fresh and like a classic folktale."—The Washington Post


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316431248
ISBN-10: 0316431249
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 2nd, 2018
Pages: 40
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card