Saevus Corax Deals With the Dead (The Corax trilogy #1) (Paperback)

Saevus Corax Deals With the Dead (The Corax trilogy #1) By K. J. Parker Cover Image

Saevus Corax Deals With the Dead (The Corax trilogy #1) (Paperback)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
7 on hand, as of Mar 1 5:19am
Politics and Prose at The Wharf (610 Water St SW)
1 on hand, as of Mar 1 6:19am
Politics and Prose at Union Market (1324 4th Street NE)
1 on hand, as of Mar 1 5:33am

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Corax trilogy series.

From one of the most original voices in fantasy comes a twisted tale of murder, betrayal, and battlefield salvage. 

There’s no formal training for battlefield salvage. You just have to pick things up as you go along. Swords, armour, arrows – and the bodies, of course.
 
Over the years, Saevus Corax has picked up a lot of things. Some of them have made him decent money, others have brought nothing but trouble. But it’s a living, and somebody has to deal with the dead.
  
Something else that Saevus has buried is his past. Unfortunately, he didn’t quite succeed.
  For more from K. J. Parker, check out:   Sixteen Ways to Defend a Walled CityHow to Rule an Empire and Get Away With It
A Practical Guide to Conquering the World

  The Two of SwordsThe Two of Swords: Volume OneThe Two of Swords Volume TwoThe Two of Swords: Volume Three   The Fencer TrilogyColours in the SteelThe Belly of the BowThe Proof House   The Scavenger TrilogyShadowPatternMemory   Engineer TrilogyDevices and DesiresEvil for EvilThe Escapement   The CompanyThe Folding KnifeThe HammerSharps
K.J. Parker is a pseudonym for Tom Holt. He was born in London in 1961. At Oxford he studied bar billiards, ancient Greek agriculture and the care and feeding of small, temperamental Japanese motorcycle engines; interests which led him, perhaps inevitably, to qualify as a solicitor and emigrate to Somerset, where he specialized in death and taxes for seven years before going straight in 1995. He lives in Chard, Somerset, with his wife and daughter.
Product Details ISBN: 9780316668903
ISBN-10: 0316668907
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: The Corax trilogy
"Part political intrigue, part underdog tale, part acerbic commentary on humanity, Parker’s dryly funny low fantasy is off to a strong start."—Booklist on Saevus Corax Deals with the Dead

"Readers who like Peter David, A. Lee Martinez, or the Guardians of the Galaxy movies will find this title right up their alley with similar tones, fantastical plots, and over-the-top characters."—Library Journal on Saevus Corax Deals with the Dead

"Full of invention and ingenuity . . . Great fun."—SFX on Sixteen Ways to Defend a Walled City

"Parker's acerbic wit and knowledge of human nature are a delight to read as he explores the way conflict is guided, in equal measure, by the brilliance and unerring foolishness of humanity . . . . Thoroughly engaging."—RT Books Reviews on The Two of Swords: Volume One

"This is another splendid offering from K.J. Parker, the (pseudonymous) British fantasist who seems incapable of writing in anything but top form."—Locus on Sharps

"Well-crafted, powerful and downright unmissable"—SFX on The Company

"Brilliant."—Locus on The Engineer Trilogy

"Skillful plotting and rich scene-setting."—Guardian on The Company

"A richly textured and emotionally complex fantasy...Highly recommended."—Library Journal on The Engineer Trilogy (starred review)

"Astonishingly good."—RT Book Reviews on Sharps

"Parker's skillful control of pacing, expert rendering of characters, and subtle sense of humor add depth and believability."—Library Journal on Sharps

"In this epic trilogy opener, Parker offers dark humor and bloody conflict alongside a cutting examination of the cost of war and the people who exacerbate and profit from it... A promising series starter that's sure to appeal to Parker's fans."—Publishers Weekly