The Story Orchestra: A Midsummer Night's Dream (Hardcover)

The Story Orchestra: A Midsummer Night's Dream By Jessica Courtney Tickle (Illustrator) Cover Image

The Story Orchestra: A Midsummer Night's Dream (Hardcover)

By Jessica Courtney Tickle (Illustrator)


Coming Soon—Pre-Order Now

Discover the spellbinding magic of Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream in this musical reimagining of Mendelssohn’s most famous suites – push the button in each scene to hear the vivid sound of an orchestra playing from Mendelssohn’s score.

This story takes us to Athens where the Duke and Queen are to be married. However, not everyone is as happy, and on one midsummer's night, mischievous fairies, lively actors and young lovers get caught up in a series of pranks and events in the nearby woods.

As you and your little one journey through the magical scenes of Shakespeare's most beloved and comedic play, press the buttons on each page to hear 10 excerpts from the opera's music! Readers should press firmly on the pages to activate the sounds, encouraging interactive learning and introducing children to this beautiful piece of music.

At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Felix Mendelssohn, with details about his composition of A Midsummer Night's Dream. Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms and musical techniques that make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms.

The Story Orchestra series brings classical music to life for children through gorgeously illustrated retellings of classic ballet, opera and program music stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores.

Also available in the Story Orchestra seriesFour Seasons in One Day, The Nutcracker, The Sleeping Beauty, Swan LakeCarnival of the Animals, The Magic Flute, In the Hall of the Mountain King, I Can Play (vol 1) and The Planets.

Manufacturer's note: please pull the white tab out of the back of the book before use. Sound buttons require a firm push in exact location to work, which may be hard for young children. All sound clips are 10 seconds long.

Jessica Courtney-Tickle is an illustrator who graduated from Kingston University in July 2014. Her absolute favorite thing to draw or paint is nature, finding a focus on foliage of any kind as well as children's stories about adventure and exploration. She also has a penchant for drawing theater from music makers to dancers and even singing animals. Jessica is most influenced by vintage picture books, travel posters, and folk art as well as numerous painters and printmakers.

Product Details ISBN: 9780711297388
ISBN-10: 071129738X
Publisher: Frances Lincoln Children's Books
Publication Date: October 1st, 2024
Pages: 24
Language: English
Series: The Story Orchestra