Replay: Memoir of an Uprooted Family (Hardcover)

Replay: Memoir of an Uprooted Family By Jordan Mechner Cover Image

Replay: Memoir of an Uprooted Family (Hardcover)

$29.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of May 19 1:20am
Politics and Prose at The Wharf (610 Water St SW)
1 on hand, as of May 19 2:20am
Politics and Prose at Union Market (1324 4th Street NE)
1 on hand, as of May 19 1:35am

"[A] vibrant, poignant book." —NPR Book Reviews

1914. A teenage romantic heads to the enlistment office when his idyllic life in a Jewish enclave of the Austro-Hungarian Empire is shattered by World War I.

1938. A seven-year-old refugee begins a desperate odyssey through France, struggling to outrun the rapidly expanding Nazi regime and reunite with his family on the other side of the Atlantic.

2015. The creator of a world-famous video game franchise weighs the costs of uprooting his family and moving to France as the cracks in his marriage begin to grow.

Prince of Persia creator Jordan Mechner calls on the voices of his father and grandfather to weave a powerful story about the enduring challenge of holding a family together in the face of an ever-changing world.

Jordan Mechner is an author, graphic novelist, game designer, and screenwriter. He created the video game Prince of Persia in 1989, rebooted it with Ubisoft in 2003, and wrote the first screenplay for Disney’s 2010 film adaptation, Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time. His other games include Karateka and The Last Express. In 2017, he received the Pioneer Award from the International Game Developers Association. Jordan’s graphic novels as writer include the New York Times bestseller Templar (from First Second, with LeUyen Pham and Alex Puvilland), Monte Cristo (Mario Alberti), and Liberty (Etienne LeRoux). Replay is his first book as writer/artist.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250873750
ISBN-10: 1250873754
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: March 19th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English

"[A] vibrant, poignant book." —NPR Book Reviews

"Every work by the polymath video game designer Jordan Mechner is essentially about rewinding time, so perhaps it’s unsurprising that Replay: Memoir of an Uprooted Family braids together so many time periods so adroitly." —New York Times

"[For] those interested in video game development, and readers looking for a new take on WWII sagas." –SLJ

"This is a timely memoir that will appeal to fans of both Maus and Box Brown’s reality-based comics." –Booklist

“Incredibly evocative... A powerful emotional experience.”
—Neil Druckmann, The Last of Us