Murder at Midnight (LILLY ADLER MYSTERY, A #4) (Hardcover)

Murder at Midnight (LILLY ADLER MYSTERY, A #4) By Katharine Schellman Cover Image

Murder at Midnight (LILLY ADLER MYSTERY, A #4) (Hardcover)

$30.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at The Wharf (610 Water St SW)
1 on hand, as of May 26 10:20pm
Politics and Prose at Union Market (1324 4th Street NE)
1 on hand, as of May 26 9:35pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 4 in the LILLY ADLER MYSTERY, A series.

Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Ashley Weaver, when a body is found shot to death after an unexpected snowstorm, Lily Adler quickly realizes that some people will stop at nothing to bury their secrets.

Regency widow Lily Adler is looking forward to a quiet Christmastide away from the schemes and secrets she witnessed daily in London. Not only will she be visiting the family of her late husband; she will be reunited with Captain Jack Hartley, her friend and confidante, finally returned after a long voyage at sea.

But secrets aren’t only found in London. Jack’s younger sister, Amelia, is the center of neighborhood scandal and gossip. She refuses to tell anyone what really happened, even when an unexpected snowstorm strands the neighborhood families together after a Christmas ball. Stuck until the snow stops, the Adlers, Hartleys, and their neighbors settle in for the night, only to be awakened in the morning by the scream of a maid who has just discovered a dead body.

The victim was the well-to-do son of a local gentleman—the same man whose name has become so scandalously linked to Amelia’s.

With the snow still falling and no way to come or go, it’s clear that someone in the house was responsible for the young man’s death. When suspicion instantly falls on Jack’s sister, he and Lily must unmask the true culprit before Amelia is convicted of a crime she didn’t commit.
Katharine Schellman is a former actor, one-time political consultant, and currently the author of the Lily Adler Mysteries. A graduate of the College of William & Mary, Katharine currently lives and writes in the mountains of Virginia in the company of her family and the many houseplants she keeps accidentally murdering.
Product Details ISBN: 9781639104321
ISBN-10: 1639104321
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: September 19th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: LILLY ADLER MYSTERY, A
Praise for Murder at Midnight:
WONDER WOMEN SIXTY’S FAVORITE HOLIDAY MYSTERIES

“Delightful . . . Historical mystery fans will devour this holiday treat.”
Publishers Weekly

“A plummy period whodunit with a colorful collection of suspects.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A Christmas treat for fans of Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None.”
Library Journal

“Entertaining, and filled with suspenseful twists and vivid details.”
Booklist

“Cozy mystery writing at its very best.”
Midwest Book Review

“A suspenseful, engaging novel . . . Reminiscent of Agatha Christie.”
Historical Novels Review

“Another great novel in the series. Lily is a well-written character, that is smart, and fun to read.”
Red Carpet Crash

“An excellent entry in the series.”
The Library Ladies

“A superb mystery perfect for the holiday season or a chilly winter night!”
Wonder Women Sixty

Praise for the Lily Adler Mysteries:
The Body in the Garden is a perfect London crime novel and a masterful debut; fast-paced, expertly researched, and intricately plotted. I actually gasped when I got to the end!”
—Alex Grecian, New York Times bestselling author

“[An] elegant, excellently-paced, and thoroughly engrossing mystery.”
—Ashley Weaver, author of the Amory Ames Mysteries

“Fans of Tasha Alexander's Lady Emily mysteries will want to set aside space on their bookshelves for the adventures of widowed amateur sleuth Lily Adler.”
—Greer Macallister, bestselling author 

“Schellman ably interweaves appealing developments in Lily’s personal life, a classic locked-room puzzle, and a nuanced look at period society. Regency lovers will be enthralled.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Worthy of Rex Stout or Agatha Christie.”
Library Journal, starred review

“Sensitive handling of class and race issues common to London in the early 1800s give the story depth.”
BookPage, starred review

“Schellman does a brilliant job bringing historical accuracy and clever characters to life.”
San Francisco Book Review, 5-star review

“The mixed-race identities of her partners in crime solving and the methods through which they navigate London society add richness to the tale beyond mere Regency-era tropes.”
Booklist

“Schellman transports readers to Regency-era England and tantalizes them with a traditional whodunit.”
Kirkus Reviews

“An exceptionally good read.”
New York Journal of Books