The Flavor Thesaurus: More Flavors: Plant-Led Pairings, Recipes, and Ideas for Cooks (Hardcover)

The Flavor Thesaurus: More Flavors: Plant-Led Pairings, Recipes, and Ideas for Cooks By Niki Segnit Cover Image

The Flavor Thesaurus: More Flavors: Plant-Led Pairings, Recipes, and Ideas for Cooks (Hardcover)

$32.00


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Nov 28 5:19am
Politics and Prose at The Wharf (610 Water St SW)
1 on hand, as of Nov 28 2:19am
Politics and Prose at Union Market (1270 5th Street NE)
1 on hand, as of Nov 28 5:33am

The plant-led follow-up to The Flavor Thesaurus, "a rich and witty and erudite collection" (Epicurious), featuring 92 essential ingredients and hundreds of flavor combinations.

“After all the combinations you think you know, the ones you’ve never even considered will blow your mind … Eggplants take you to chocolate, which takes you to miso, which takes you to seaweed, which takes you to a recipe in another book or a restaurant dish you have to hunt down straight away. The curiosity is infectious, the possibilities inspiring on this ingredient-led voyage.”--Yotam Ottolenghi in The New York Times Magazine, on how he uses More Flavors for recipe development

"[Segnit is] a flavor genius . . . creative, imaginative, and fun."--Mark Bittman

With her debut cookbook, The Flavor Thesaurus, Niki Segnit taught readers that no matter whether an ingredient is “grassy” like dill, cucumber, or peas, or “floral fruity” like figs, roses, or blueberries, flavors can be created in wildly imaginative ways. Now, she again draws from her “phenomenal body of work” (Yotam Ottolenghi) to produce a new treasury of pairings—this time with plant-led ingredients.

More Flavors explores the character and tasting notes of chickpea, fennel, pomegranate, kale, lentil, miso, mustard, rye, pine nut, pistachio, poppy seed, sesame, turmeric, and wild rice—as well as favorites like almond, avocado, garlic, lemon, and parsley from the original—then expertly teaches readers how to pair them with ingredients that complement. With her celebrated blend of science, history, expertise, anecdotes, and signature sense of humor, Niki Segnit’s More Flavors is a modern classic of food writing, and a brilliantly useful, engaging reference book for every cook’s kitchen.

Niki Segnit's first book, The Flavor Thesaurus, won the André Simon Award for best food book and the Guild of Food Writers Award for best debut. It has been translated into fifteen languages. Her second book, Lateral Cooking, has been called “a staggering achievement” by Nigella Lawson, the “book of the decade” by Elizabeth Luard, and ”astonishing and addictive” by Brian Eno. It has been translated into nine languages. She lives in London with her husband and two children.
Product Details ISBN: 9781639731138
ISBN-10: 163973113X
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English

"Tantalizing and inspiring ... Focused on plant-forward ingredients, this handy reference offers tasty vegetable match-ups for creative cookery … With its flavor pairings conveniently cross-referenced, this guide is as practical as it is mouthwatering." - Publishers Weekly

"[Segnit's] prose hums with poetic cadence in descriptions such as caramel roasted, flower and meadow, creamy fruity, zesty woody, nutty milky, and animalic, making it a whimsical read for those who simply want to be delighted by a discussion of food … Clever, unusual, and overwhelmingly intriguing, part two of The Flavor Thesaurus adds pizzazz to cookbook collections with its offbeat, choose-your-own-adventure look at the possibility of flavor pairings today." - Booklist

"Fans of Segnit’s original The Flavor Thesaurus will be thrilled with her follow-up ... Recommend to those who enjoy experimenting in the kitchen and looking behind the scenes of cookery, along with fans who are looking for the next installment of flavor pairings. Food lovers will enjoy Segnit’s meander through food memories, recipes, and advice, along with all the practical uses for this flavor reference guide." - Library Journal

"Niki Segnit is a self-taught flavor genius … a prolific food writer. Just as fabulous as the original. It makes for great reading … Really creative, imaginative and fun." - Mark Bittman, Food with Mark Bittman

"The most fun I have ever had reading while reading about flavor combinations. It does what all great cookbooks do: it makes you want to get in the kitchen and make something … Such a great collection– I really just enjoyed reading it … Super fun, evocative … Such a joy to read and such a lovely approach to the idea of flavor and cooking." - Francis Lam, The Splendid Table

"Niki Segnit might just have the most discerning palate on the planet … She has become a global authority of flavor combinations, carving a career out of what goes with what and what does not and why … She’s finetuned the breakdown of the biochemistry of how we taste." - Charlie D’Agata, CBS Saturday Morning

"Matching ingredients isn't a trivial matter and Niki Segnit is definitely the reigning champion. She knows what goes with what and why, and shares her endless insights with generosity and affability." - Yotam Ottolenghi

"[Niki Segnit] advises starting with the basics . . . I regularly use her book and its sequel, ‘The Flavor Thesaurus: More Flavors,’ both dedicated to the delicate art of pairing flavors, to guide my cooking and recipe development." —Reem Kassis, The Wall Street Journal

"Incredibly helpful… Segnit has such an entertaining voice, that it feels almost like you’re reading a novel—an extremely practical novel." - Jenny Rosenstrach

"Self-deprecating and funny … I was amazed." - Kate Bittman, Food with Mark Bittman

"Brilliant, informative and witty … The range of flavour combinations and recipe suggestions is incredible, written with lightness of touch and humour that had me laughing out loud. An invaluable read. This book will inspire a new generation of home cooks, chefs and writers alike." - Rukmini Iyer

"Excellent . . . The book takes the form of a series of flavor pairings with Segnit’s delightfully discursive thoughts on their associations and why they work (or don’t work)." —Bee Wilson

"Perfect for those willing to invest in a well-researched, captivating read and explore the rich world of plant flavors and their creative yet practical applications." - Tasting Table

"This is a book that has helped me inform my menu development." - David Breeden, Chef de Cuisine, The French Laundry on THE FLAVOR THESAURUS

"An imaginative but practical matchmaker, [Segnit] has a gift for pairing sometimes lackluster ingredients in a way that brings out the best in them and makes them more appealing as a couple than they ever were as loners." - The Wall Street Journal on THE FLAVOR THESAURUS

"Pure, informative delight ... Segnit not only covers continents but also makes deft, slyly humorous work of connecting their dishes ... Segnit effortlessly glides readers up and over her culinary Everest." - New York Times Book Review on LATERAL COOKING

"A staggering achievement." - Nigella Lawson, on LATERAL COOKING

"Perfect for fans of Salt Fat Acid Heat." - Samin Nosrat (via Instagram), on LATERAL COOKING