The American Countess (American Heiress #2) (Paperback)

The American Countess (American Heiress #2) By Linda Bennett Pennell Cover Image

The American Countess (American Heiress #2) (Paperback)

$23.95


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

"Pennell expertly recreates early 1900s Britain through the life of an inspiring heroine and other fascinating characters. The story is a compelling portrayal of courage during chaos and war and enduring love that withstands distance and hardship." -Edith Wairimu, Readers' Favorite

Yorkshire Dales, August 1913

American heiress India, Lady Kilnsey, enjoys the very comfortable life of an English peeress in her husband's ancestral castle. She is deeply in love with her earl, and he adores her. Her inherited fortune provides a life that is elegant, happy, and peaceful, but ominous clouds are gathering across the Channel. The clang of rattling sabers can be heard throughout Europe. In a few short months, their lives are altered forever. Archduke Ferdinand is assassinated, and the world explodes in war bringing previously unimaginable changes to castle life and in India herself. With her husband amongst the first to volunteer, India is left to shoulder unexpected responsibilities, to deal with dangerous men, and to search desperately for something precious that is lost.

Perfect for fans of Marie Benedict, Helen Simonson, and Julian Fellows, The American Countess continues India's story that began with the popular The Last Dollar Princess and takes readers on a journey of discovery, suspense, and resolution of a longstanding mystery. India's determination, courage, and strength make her a character not easily forgotten.

Product Details ISBN: 9781685133238
ISBN-10: 1685133231
Publisher: Black Rose Writing
Publication Date: November 22nd, 2023
Pages: 334
Language: English
Series: American Heiress