So Thirsty by Rachel Harrison

Staff Pick

This is an absolutely fun ride! Harrison mixes horror with feminine rage and strength to follow an average woman society has relegated to a monotonous life of invisibility. But through the freedom that becoming a creature of the night has unleashed, she finds her true self. Romantic, horrifying, and empowering, Harrison's book reminds us not to be compliant to restraints but to break loose and live life. 

So Thirsty By Rachel Harrison Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593642542
Availability: Coming Soon—Pre-Order Now
Published: Berkley - September 10th, 2024

Ghost Stories of an Antiquary by M.R. James

Staff Pick

James was a mild-mannered Cambridge medievalist, but beneath the scholar's cap lurked a most fiendish imagination. The stories he devised for Halloween entertainments—filled with atmospheric settings, malevolent spirits, and a lot of wet hair--influenced a century's worth of horror from writers such as H.P. Lovecraft and Stephen King. James drew on a prevailing sense of imperial disintegration and suppressed desire to invest his tales with unique force. They've lost none of their power to make readers shiver as they pass an old ruin or hear whistling in the dark. An essential for every library!

Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (Haunted Library Horror Classics) By M. R. James, Leslie S. Klinger (Editor), Eric J. Guignard (Editor), David Morrell (Introduction by) Cover Image
By M. R. James, Leslie S. Klinger (Editor), Eric J. Guignard (Editor), David Morrell (Introduction by)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781464215155
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Poisoned Pen Press - October 5th, 2021

Woodworm by Layla Martinez

Staff Pick

I finished this book in a night! I couldn't stop turning the pages as the story of a grandmother and granddaughter unfurled into something dark, skittering, and unresolved. In the vein of Fernanda Melchor and Mariana Enriquez, this is a modern horror story steeped in old school tradition. It builds fear out of familiar social and cultural norms and out of what lurks between assumptions and beneath silence; the worst horrors lie in what lives long past someone's death. Anyone dipping their toe into Latin Gothic horror should snatch up this beautiful Two Lines Press book immediately.

 

Woodworm By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator) Cover Image
By Layla Martinez, Sophie Hughes (Translator), Annie McDermott (Translator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781949641592
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Two Lines Press - May 14th, 2024

Pages